Playback speed
undefinedx
Share post
Share post at current time
0:00
/
0:00

Inside The Studio: Earthquake Room

Thank you for 100% on Kickstarter!
Transcript

No transcript...

It’s not Thursday yet but I had to drop this newsletter today. Because:

a) It’s Earth Day! How fitting!

b) On Friday we reached 100% on my Kickstarter to fund my geology album release.

I had scheduled 30 days to get there, but it ended up taking 5. FIVE DAYS!? Honestly, I’m a bit shocked and not really sure how to react. It happened so quickly! I’m so grateful to everyone that has pledged so far. There’s still over 20 days to go, so you’ve got time to grab an album or some merch, still.

On Instagram I polled people to ask what they’d like to see or hear once we reached my goal of £3500. Most people said “song previews,” and I know I haven’t delivered, but I reckon we can hold on until we reach the end of the campaign!

The other option was “studio footage.”

Above, you can watch the day we had at Laurel Sound Studios last summer when we recorded the album. This video takes you through the basic tracking we did for track 2, Earthquake Room: drums, percussion, vocals, bass.

If you still haven’t pledged to the Kickstarter for my album and would like to, just click below:

Kickstarter

Joining me in the studio that day was Jack Painting, who was on drums, and Ollie and Ed Taylor, who engineered the session, and Ollie plays bass on this track. The guys have a great band called Sunspells, if you want to check it out. I got to do my own cowbell (!!!) on the song, but trust me, the timing needed a bit of tweaking afterwards. It’s harder than it looks!

🌈 Kickstarter: Now What?

Now that I’ve reached my initial goal on Kickstarter, I can do the following:

  • fund a radio plugger

  • fund a live filmed session of the songs with one other musician

  • manufacture 100 CDs

This was just the beginning, and I’m so grateful that I can go ahead and start planning things without worrying how I was gonna get stuff done. That kind of thing hangs over your head, you know.

But now that I can do the bare minimum, I’d love to get that Kickstarter number up a bit to give myself a bit more breathing space and some more options.

If we reach £5000, I can:

  • manufacture 200 CDs and get them into stores

  • fund a launch show in London

  • play that launch show with a full band!

  • relax!!!! a little bit!!!!

If you wanna help me get there, pledge now.

Pledge to the Kickstarter

🎙 Upcoming Gigs

Scotland friends: I’m playing in Glasgow in April! Get your tickets now:

  • Glasgow, 27th April: With Fergus McNeill, @ The Dream Machine | Buy Tickets


Check out some ways you can support me & my music:

Til next time! Be good,

Olivia 🌈✨🏔🎶

0 Comments
a constellation
Typical Forever
My concept album about geology, coming soon!
Authors
olivia rafferty